If you have not been to café junior after dark then you really are missing out.

As evening draws in Café junior is transformed into a welcoming restaurant that anyone would want to dine at, however if you have children this place really is the place to be.

We have all been there, wanting to have a nice relaxing meal with the other half or simply going out with friends for a meal and not being able to get a babysitter…why not try Juniors Family-Friendly Restaurant located within Café junior on Fanny Street in Cathays.

With it being Christmas my husband and I decided to go out for a meal with our friends Samantha and Karl. We also wanted our children to come out for our Christmas meal so we all decided to try Juniors.

lush

As we entered the restaurant we were welcomed by our waitress for the evening Nicola, Nicola very politely asked us what we would be drinking and dashed off to get the drinks. Juniors have an Alcohol licence so my husband had a glass of red, Karl and I had a cola, the kids had a jug of squash and Samantha had a glass of Prosecco which came in a champagne flute along with a strawberry …very posh indeed.

Our table was very festively decorated, we even had Christmas crackers!

Our children ran off to play in the play-zone as we looked at the menu and decided on what to eat. The children were in eyes view so we all could relax and enjoy some adult conversation without the worry of the children not being safe.

The menu really has so much choice and there is also a Christmas menu you can view online. If you would like to order off the Christmas menu then it is best to call ahead so the chef knows. We decided to go for the regular menu as we all fancied a burger meal.

The kitchen is run by Gareth who has been working in the hospitality industry for over 20 years he is also a business partner of Café Junior . Gareth has help from May who also has over 20 years kitchen/food experience.

IMG_20151210_202036
Gareth and Me

 

All burgers are 100% Angus beef, they are served with a brioche bun with chunky potato wedges and roasted vine tomatoes.

My husband had the Blue burger which was topped with onion rings and covered in a creamy blue cheese melt.

My friend Samantha had Hunters burger which was topped with smoky BBQ sauce, crispy bacon and melted cheese…you could have this with the 100% Angus beef or with chicken breast.

My friend Karl had the all the same as the Blue burger but with regular cheddar cheese melt instead.

I am the fussy eater of the group and I asked Gareth if he could do me a skinny chicken burger…no oil, no dressing just salad, chicken and a bun. He said no problem and this is what I had.

My meal was beautifully presented, it was fresh, hot and smelt so good! Its quite rare for me to get a meal that isn’t covered in oil after I specifically asked for none, so when I received my meal I was pleasantly surprised that it was exactly what I asked for. The chicken burger was mouth watering good, the brioche bun was soft and tasted so much nicer than a sesame seed bun. The vine tomatoes were cooked to perfection, sweet and very moreish. The salad was by far the best salad I think I’ve ever had! It was crunchy, the lettuce leaves had life (unlike other places) everything was fresh as the day bought. My salad had onion, cherry toms, onions, beetroot, avocado and even pomegranate! So delicious I even tried the balsamic sauce that was in a separate container and again that was beautiful too.

My three year old had Toddler Tapas as he never sits still so I though this would be the perfect meal as its a selection of finger foods and small bites. He had cheese tortilla chips, tortilla chips with tuna mayo, strawberry, avocado and chicken bites amongst other healthy finger foods.

My friends son Carter-Jay had spaghetti Bolognese with hidden veg and my friends other son Martin had Sausage and chips even though it was not on the menu, again Gareth showed us he was very versatile when it come to our meals.

My 15 month old had a bit of everyone’s and he particularly enjoyed the Spaghetti Bolognese and Toddler Tapas.

Our meals were so filling we didn’t get a dessert we just sat back, relaxed and planned a family holiday for next year whilst our children tired themselves out in the play-zone.

I really do urge parents to try Juniors Family-Friendly Dining, its nice to enjoy a meal without worrying what your children are up to or if they are safe. If you do decided to book a meal at Juniors you can do so by booking online, calling or going into Café Junior.

Find Juniors: http://www.cafejunior.com/

Find me: http://www.facebook.com/recoverymummy

 

I wrote this review as I truly think Juniors Restaurant really is a great friendly place with really good food.

One thought on “Juniors Family – Friendly dining

Leave a Reply

